Balkan Political Science Association

The Balkan Political Science Association (BPSA) is a nonprofit international scholarly organization of national associations, think thanks and scholars in South East Europe.

The goals of BPSA are:

  • to promote and regularize contacts between the national associations of political science and to contribute to the diversification of their collaboration,
  • to facilitate and foster networking of Balkan scholars in political science, international relations, European and Balkan studies,
  • to enhance the regional and international visibility of political science in South East Europe.

The Balkan Political Science Association was created at the 2015 Annual Conference of the Serbian Political Science Association in Belgrade, with participation of representatives of most national political science associations from our region. So far the following political science associations have joined the BPSA: of Bosnia and Hercegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Macedonia, Montenegro, Serbia, Slovenia and Turkey (the Council for International Relations). We hope that relevant associations from the remaining parts of our region will join us soon.

The BPSA hosted a round table on the rise of illiberalism and far right extremism at the 2016 Annual Conference of the Serbian Political Science Association in Belgrade. Speakers included Milan Podunavac, the BPSA President, Anna Krasteva from New Bulgarian University in Sofia, Nenad Marković, President of the Macedonian Political Science Association, Milada Anna Vachudova from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, and James Dawson from King's College in London.

BHA logoBalkan History Association and Balkan Political Science Association signed a cooperation agreement on December 29 2018 in order to strengthen regional academic ties and reinforce knowledge on regional political traditions.




BPSA representatives

  • Committee (members include presidents of national associations)
  • President: prof. Cirila Toplak
  • Secretary: Biljana Đorđević.


The Balkan Political Science Association